RM103 mil to upgrade 6 fire stations in Sabah this year

Fire stations in Tuaran, Nabawan, Merotai, Lahad Datu, Beaufort and Semporna are to be upgraded.

TAWAU: The federal government has approved an allocation of RM103 million for the rebuilding and upgrading works, as well as the construction of new buildings for six fire and rescue stations in Sabah this year.

Fire and Rescue Department director-general Mohamad Hamdan Wahid said the allocation was for the fire stations in Tuaran, Nabawan, Merotai, Lahad Datu, Beaufort and Semporna.

He said the government has given RM3.8 million for maintenance works to be carried out at fire and rescue staff quarters nationwide, including in Sabah.

There is also a plan to establish a fire station at water villages in Sabah to improve response time, Hamdan said after a dialogue with senior officers and personnel here last night.

He said the department is also looking into the possibility of setting up the hazardous material (Hazmat) unit in certain areas in Sabah with industrial zones.

“For example, if there is an urgent need in Tawau, the unit from Kota Kinabalu will take as long as nine hours to reach Tawau as the special unit is only available in Kota Kinabalu.”