Government looking to amend or repeal Sedition Act, 5 others

(Bernama pic)

PUTRAJAYA: Home Minister Muhyiddin Yassin says the government is studying six laws with the view of either amending or repealing them.

The laws are the Sedition Act 1948, the Prevention of Crime Act 1959, the Prevention of Terrorism Act 2015, the Printing Presses and Publications Act 1984, the Security Offences (Special Measures) Act 2012 and the Peaceful Assembly Act 2012.

Muhyiddin said his ministry would hold discussions with the Attorney-General’s Chambers to fine-tune the proposal, with the outcome tabled to the Cabinet for approval.

“The basic principle in studying the laws is that the government has to formulate a law on security that can provide a balance of the need to safeguard the country’s security effectively, (and) at the same time preserve the fundamental rights guaranteed in the Federal Constitution,” he said at the home ministry’s 2019 New Year Message programme here today.