MyPPP de-registered amid leadership row

M Kayveas (left) and Maglin Dennis D’Cruz

PETALING JAYA: The Registrar of Societies (RoS) has de-registered MyPPP, the former Barisan Nasional component party which has been split by two rival leaders since last year.

The letter from RoS on the decision was sent to M Kayveas and Maglin Dennis D’Cruz, who are both claiming the party presidency.

D’Cruz was behind the move to expel Kayveas as president last year, a decision confirmed unanimously at the 64th MyPPP annual meeting in May just days after the general election.

Kayveas, meanwhile insists that he is the rightful president, and has recently thrown his support behind Pakatan Harapan in the Cameron Highlands by-election.

Meanwhile, Simon Sabapathy from the D’Cruz faction said the party had already explained to RoS on Kayveas’ sacking, adding that it was unfair to punish the party.

But he said the decision also showed that Kayveas was not the rightful president.

“I feel the positive take on this is that Kayveas cannot claim to be president,” he told FMT.

“Whereas we, the legitimate Supreme Council, have a fair chance to be heard with the minister and the courts.

“If it goes to court for judicial review, I am positive the outcome will favour us as all our arguments reveal the proper procedures had been taken to sack Kayveas.”

A Chandrakumanan, a vice-president aligned to Kayveas’ faction, invited D’Cruz to come to a compromise to “save the party”.

“If they want to discuss with me, I am willing to talk to them. They should also call Kayveas and whoever is involved from both sides,” he told FMT.

He said the party has 30 days to appeal to the Ministry of Home Affairs.

Chandrakumanan blamed RoS’ decision on D’Cruz.

“Kayveas had agreed to resign from the party as the president last year but they did not accept the letter. They terminated him,” he added.