Muhyiddin: We’re in no rush to reveal who will contest in Semenyih

KUALA LUMPUR: PPBM president Muhyiddin Yassin today said there is no hurry to reveal its candidate for the Semenyih by-election.

He said five to six names have already been submitted as potential candidates.

“We have held meetings on this by-election. The potential candidates are being analysed at the state level.

“I must refer to Tun (PPBM chairman Dr Mahathir Mohamad) first on the candidates.

“We still have time. There is no hurry to announce the candidate.

“We will see when the time is right,” he said at a press conference after launching the Malay version of Setiawangsa MP Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad’s book on the 14th general election here today.

The Semenyih by-election is the sixth to be held after the 14th general election on May 9 last year.

The state constituencies of Sungai Kandis, Balakong and Seri Setia had also seen by-elections, along with the Port Dickson parliamentary constituency. Polling for the Cameron Highlands seat is taking place today.

The Semenyih by-election was called following the death of state assemblyman Bakhtiar Mohd Nor from a heart attack on Jan 11.

Bakhtiar, from PPBM, had won the seat in a four-cornered fight against Barisan Nasional, PAS and PSM.

Polling has been fixed on March 2, with nominations on Feb 16 and early voting on Feb 26.

Meanwhile, on a report that MyPPP was contemplating legal action against the Registrar of Societies (RoS) if the party’s appeal against its deregistration is not given due attention, Muhyiddin, who is also home minister, said he was aware that party president M Kayveas wanted to appeal.

“Since it is a decision by the RoS, I leave it to them.

“I am not involved. If the appeal has a basis, or if the decision needs to be reconsidered, that is for the RoS to do,” he added.

Kayveas was reported as saying that he had submitted an appeal to Muhyiddin through RoS on Jan 15, a day after RoS revoked the party’s registration.

RoS had issued the notice for MyPPP’s deregistration to Kayveas and Maglin Dennis D’Cruz, who both claim to be the rightful president of the party.