Writ of summons sent to former MPs frog-jumping to PPBM

Umno acting president Mohamad Hasan.

PETALING JAYA: Umno acting president Mohamad Hasan revealed today a writ of summons has been sent to a few MPs who left the party and “frog-jumped” to PPBM yesterday.

He confirmed this matter with FMT but refused to name the individuals.

It is understood that Umno will demand that these MPs pay back the election costs and vacate their seats.

“Umno would like to thank them for their contribution to the party. I wish them all the best in their political journey with PPBM,” said Mohamad.

He also said the actions of these MPs will not hold back Umno in any way.

Yesterday, PPBM chairman Dr Mahathir Mohamad announced the acceptance of seven former Umno members into his party.

They were MPs Shabudin Yahaya (Tasek Gelugor), Hamzah Zainuddin (Larut), Ikmal Hisham Abdul Aziz (Tanah Merah), Mohamad Fasiah Mohd Fakeh (Sabak Bernam), Rosol Wahid (Hulu Terengganu), Abdul Latiff Ahmad (Mersing) and Mas Ermieyati Samsudin (Tanah Merah). These leaders applied to join PPBM last December.