Rantau by-election on April 13

PETALING JAYA: The Rantau by-election will be held on April 13, with nomination on March 30 and early voting on April 9, Election Commission (EC) chairman Azhar Harun announced today.

Campaigning will stretch for 14 days, from March 30 to April 12.

Seremban Land and Mines Office district officer Mohd Nizam Tajul Arus will be returning officer, while the EC will deploy four enforcement teams to monitor activities during the campaign period comprising representatives from the police and local authorities as well as EC officials.

Azhar said voting would be streamed live, as was done for the Cameron Highlands and Semenyih by-elections, with unofficial results to be made public on the EC’s social media page and website.

Nomination and vote tallying will be held at the multipurpose hall at SJK (C) Bandar Sri Sendayan.

A total of 515 EC officials will be on duty, with 16 voting centres and 50 streams. Azhar said this would cost RM1.8 million.

The Rantau by-election was triggered by the Election Court’s decision last November to allow PKR candidate Dr Streram Sinnasamy’s petition for fresh polls.

This was upheld by the Federal Court on Feb 18.

Streram filed the petition on May 23, 2018 to nullify the EC’s decision to declare Barisan Nasional’s Mohamad Hasan the winner of the Rantau seat.

Streram, his proposer and seconder were denied entry to the nomination centre in the May 9 polls last year, causing Mohamad to win by default.

Election Court judge Azimah Omar, in making her decision, said there would have been a contest for the seat if Streram had been allowed to file his nomination papers on April 28.

According to the electoral roll as of Feb 25, there are a total of 20,926 voters in Rantau, a Malay-majority constituency.

They comprise 20,804 normal voters, 118 early voters and four who are overseas.