Kiandee will be replaced as PAC chairman, says Dr M

Prime Minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

BANTING: Prime Minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad says Public Accounts Committee (PAC) chairman Ronald Kiandee will stay on as the chief pending a successor.

In responding to Permatang Pauh MP Nurul Izzah Anwar’s resignation as PAC member as a result of Kiandee remaining as chairman, Mahathir said the government will stick to its election manifesto to appoint an opposition MP to head the committee.

“He remains the chairman until we find a successor,” he said after launching a palm oil event here today.

Nurul’s decision to step down on Friday came hours after she tweeted that “the chairperson post of the PAC must be filled by the opposition to pursue accountability of the executive”.

Mahathir gave the green light for Kiandee, the Beluran MP, to remain as PAC chairman after the former Sabah Umno leader recently joined PPBM.

Pakatan Harapan had pledged in its election manifesto to reserve the post for a member of the opposition to “restore the dignity” of Parliament.

Kiandee, from Umno, joined PPBM earlier this month.

Besides him, other Sabah MPs who joined PPBM were Abdul Rahim Bakri (Kudat), Azizah Mohd Dun (Beaufort) and Zakaria Edris (Libaran).

The senior politician heads the bi-partisan committee with Ipoh Timur MP Wong Kah Woh as his deputy.

Parit Sulong MP Noraini Ahmad, Kota Bharu MP Takiyuddin Hassan and Jasin MP Ahmad Hamzah are the opposition MPs in PAC.

The rest are Kluang MP Wong Shu Qi, Subang MP Wong Chen, Puncak Borneo MP Willie Mongin, Sungai Besar MP Muslimin Yahaya, Hulu Langat MP Hasanuddin Mohd Yunus, Bukit Bendera MP Wong Hon Wai and Tebrau MP Steven Choong.