New Suhakam commissioners announced

New Suhakam chairman Othman Hashim. (Bernama pic)

PETALING JAYA: The government has announced the appointment of eight new commissioners for the Human Rights Commission of Malaysia (Suhakam).

The eight include some new faces, notably its new chairman, former diplomat Othman Hashim.

The announcement of the new lineup comes two days after Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Liew Vui Keong said a list of the proposed commissioners had been submitted to Prime Minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad a week ago.

Suhakam has been without commissioners since its chairman, Razali Ismail, resigned on April 16, almost two weeks before the end of his term on April 27.

The terms of the other seven commissioners ended on April 25.

In a statement today, the Prime Minister’s Office said five former commissioners, Mah Weng Kwai, Godfrey Gregory Joitol, Nik Salida Suhaila Nik Salleh, Jerald Joseph and Lok Yim Pheng had been reappointed.

Aside from Othman, the other new commissioners are retired Court of Appeal judge Mohd Hishamudin Yunus and Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia economist Madeline Berma.
“The appointments will take effect from April 27 for three years.”

It added the Yang di-Pertuan Agong has consented to Othman being appointed Suhakam chairman.