Zahid: Suits filed against all Umno MPs who joined PPBM

Umno president Ahmad Zahid Hamidi.

PETALING JAYA: Umno president Ahmad Zahid Hamidi has confirmed that the party has taken legal action against all members of Parliament who quit the party.

Zahid said the decision was made by the political bureau and the Umno Supreme Council in the interests of the party, and was not by any individual.

On Thursday, Umno filed suits in Kota Baru and Kuala Lumpur against Mustapa Mohamed (MP for Jeli), Hamzah Zainudin (Larut) and Ikmal Hisham Abdul Aziz (Tanah Merah). All three had left Umno to join PPBM.

Umno seeks RM600,000 in damages from the three former members, for alleged breach of contract as they had won the election by virtue of being Umno members and had been allocated RM200,000 each for election expenses

Zahid said the summons against the three were issued by Apandi Ali & Co, but other MPs who had left Umno were being sued through a different law firm.

They are: Abdul Latif Ahmad (Mersing), Shabudin Yahaya (Tasek Gelugor), Mohd Fasiah Mohd Fakeh (Sabak Bernam) and Rosol Wahid (Setiu). Others who joined PPBM last year were Noor Azmi Ghazali (Bagan Serai) and Mas Ermieyati Samsudin (Masjid Tanah).