Leiking’s father, Shafie’s wife among recipients of Sabah’s highest awards

The 66th birthday celebration of Sabah head of state Juhar Mahiruddin will be held tomorrow. (Bernama pic)

KOTA KINABALU: Business leader Joseph Lo Tain Foh heads the list of 1,423 recipients of state awards in conjunction with the 66th birthday celebration of Sabah head of state Juhar Mahiruddin tomorrow.

Lo, together with former state secretary KY Mustafa and Marcel Leiking, the father of International Trade and Industry Minister Darell Leiking, will be conferred the state’s highest award, the Seri Panglima Darjah Kinabalu (SPDK), which carries the title Datuk Seri Panglima.

The state’s second highest award, the Panglima Gemilang Darjah Kinabalu (PGDK), which carries the title Datuk, is conferred on a list of 68 individuals, led by Chief Minister Shafie Apdal’s wife Shuryani Shuaib.

Others who will be receiving the award include Water Department director Amarjit Singh, permanent secretary to the tourism, culture and environment ministry William Baya and Sabah Journalists Association (SJA) president Muguntan Vanar.

Also receiving the award are Warisan secretary general and nominated assemblyman Loretto Padua Jr, social worker and founder of Bukit Harapan Anne John P Arulnaselam-Keyworth, fondly known as Mama Anne, and Orangutan Appeal UK founder and chairman Susan Ann Sheward.

Sixteen individuals who will be made Justices of the Peace, including Putatan MP Awang Husaini Sahari, Labuan MP Rozman Isli and Sabah Law Society immediate past president Brenndon Keith Soh.

Seventy-five people will be receiving the Ahli Setia Darjah Kinabalu (ASDK), including Sabah Wildlife Department director Augustine Tuuga, and Lahad Datu police chief Nasri Mansor, 130 the Ahli Darjah Kinabalu (ADK), 456 the Bintang Setia Kinabalu (BSK), 324 the Bintang Kinabalu (BK) and 210 the Sijil Hormat (Certificate of Honour).

A special parade will be held at Padang Merdeka here at 7am tomorrow, to be followed by an investiture ceremony at Istana Negeri.