5 detained over LTTE links in bid for freedom on Oct 31

Police launched a crackdown early this month on what they say were attempts to revive the LTTE militant group.

KUALA LUMPUR: The High Court will hear on Oct 31 the habeas corpus applications by five men seeking release from the Security Offences (Special Measures) Act 2012 over their alleged links to the defunct Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE).

The five – DAP assemblymen M Gunasekaran and G Saminathan, S Chandru, V Suresh Kumar and S Arivainthan, who were arrested between Oct 10 and 12 – filed their court papers on Monday.

Suresh Kumar, a councillor with a local authority in Melaka, and Chandru, a businessman, are also DAP members. Arivainthan is a technician at a factory in Kulim.

They have also filed a certificate of urgency to expedite the hearings.

The five are among 12 being held under Section 4(5) of Sosma, which provides for up to 28 days’ detention without trial.

Lawyer S Preakas, who is part of the legal team said hearing would be before judicial commissioner Mohamad Shariff Abu Samah.

“We have also requested from the court that the detainees are brought to the court to follow the proceeding,” he told FMT after a case management before deputy registrar Raja Shahril Anuar Raja Baniamin.

The five have named their respective investigation officers in their applications, as well as Bukit Aman’s anti-terrorism chief Ayob Khan Mydin Pitchay, the inspector-general of police, the home ministry and the government as respondents.

They said their detention is unlawful as there was no strict compliance of Sosma, and violates their fundamental liberties under the constitution.