Azmin, 19 others reject sacking of central committee member

PKR deputy president Mohamed Azmin Ali and 19 other central committee members say the sacking of Zakaria Abdul Hamid is illegal.

PETALING JAYA: PKR deputy president Mohamed Azmin Ali and 19 other central committee members, including MPs and assemblymen, have rejected the party’s sacking of its Bera division leader Zakaria Abdul Hamid.

In a memorandum to the PKR disciplinary board, the central committee members said the sacking of Zakaria, who is also a member of the committee, was illegal.

Those who signed the memorandum included party vice-presidents Zuraida Kamaruddin and Tian Chua.

“We, as the elected central committee members for 2018-2021, irrevocably reject Zakaria’s sacking as announced by the disciplinary board chairman Ahmad Kassim.

“We, who represent the majority of the central committee members elected by party members, also urge the party president to apologise for this hasty decision which clearly did not get the support of two-thirds of the central committee members,” the memorandum said.

PKR Bera division leader Zakaria Abdul Hamid, who was sacked by the party. (Facebook pic)

The leaders said the disciplinary board had recommended a show cause letter and not sacking Zakaria.

They said that upon studying the matter, they found the decision to sack Zakaria was flawed and did not meet the principles of justice in not going through the due process.

This, they said, was strengthened by the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission’s (MACC) own admission that they made a mistake in advising PKR to take disciplinary action against two of its members.

Previously, PKR said it had sacked Zakaria and Pahang ordinary member Ismail Duhladi based on advice given by the MACC after it had investigated allegations of corruption against them.

Zakaria said he had not been informed about any report lodged against him with the disciplinary board, and he accused the party of having taken action without hearing his defence.

The sacking has led to a war of words between party leaders seen aligned to Azmin and PKR president Anwar Ibrahim.

“Zakaria remains a legitimate central committee member to this day,” the memorandum added.

The other central committee members who signed the memorandum were women’s chief Haniza Mohamed Talha, youth deputy chief Hilman Idham, Dr Daroyah Alwi, Amiruddin Shaari, Mohd Rashid Hasnon, Sivarasa Rasiah, Rahimah Majid, Elizabeth Wong, Saifuddin Abdullah, Zakaria Abdul Hamid, Radzlan Jalaluddin, Dr Mansor Othman, Kamaruddin Jaafar, Azmizam Zaman Huri, Gan Pei Nei, Hee Loy Sian and R Santhara Kumar.