Ensure Warisan victory so BN won’t rise again in Sabah, says Shafie

Warisan president Shafie Apdal (in white shirt and white cap) speaks to reporters after nominations for the Kimanis by-election today.

BEAUFORT: Warisan president Shafie Apdal called on voters in Kimanis to ensure victory for the party in the upcoming by-election “so Barisan Nasional could never rise again in Sabah”.

He said a “strong show of unity” between Warisan and its electoral partners – Upko and Pakatan Harapan – would ensure BN remains in the doldrums in the state.

“Enough is enough. BN has reigned over Sabah for so many years. I know BN, I was a member and an Umno vice-president previously.

“We have beaten BN before in the 14th general election. Now we want to make sure they won’t rise again in Sabah in the next polls,” he told reporters after nominations for by-election here today.

Warisan struck an electoral pact with PH ahead of GE14 and has expanded the partnership with the inclusion of Upko after the Sabah-based party abandoned BN to align itself with Warisan-PH.

Shafie said there is no reason for Warisan to lose in the Kimanis by-election if there is unity among the partners, as proven in the Sandakan by-election in May, when Warisan worked with the DAP which fielded its candidate.

He said he is happy with the nominations, which went on smoothly, and called on party members not to be complacent and arrogant during the election campaign.

The Kimanis by-election, to be held on Jan 18, will see a straight fight between BN’s Mohamad Alamin and Warisan’s Karim Bujang.

There were no other candidates after nominations closed at the Dewan Datuk Seri Panglima Haji Dun Banir here at 10am.

The by-election follows the Federal Court’s confirmation of an election court ruling that the victory of Anifah Aman in the seat in GE14 is null and void.

The election court had found discrepancies in the conduct of the election process and widespread non-compliance of the election laws, which had affected the outcome of the polls.

Anifah stood on a BN/Umno ticket but resigned from the party later to become an independent. He had defeated Karim by a slender 156-vote margin, obtaining 11,942 votes against 11,786.