PPBM quits Pakatan Harapan

PPBM says its MPs want party chairman Dr Mahathir Mohamad to continue as prime minister.

PETALING JAYA: PPBM has announced it is quitting the ruling Pakatan Harapan coalition, just moments after Prime Minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad submitted his resignation letter to the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong.

In a short statement, PPBM president Muhyiddin Yassin said the decision was reached yesterday during a meeting with top party leaders.

“All PPBM MPs are also quitting Pakatan Harapan. They have signed statutory declarations to continue giving their support and trust in Dr Mahathir Mohamad as the prime minister,” he said.

PH was formed in 2015 by PKR, DAP and Amanah following the break-up of Pakatan Rakyat, which previously united then opposition parties PAS, PKR and DAP.

In 2016, the coalition got its fourth partner, PPBM, formed by Mahathir after a split in Umno. The grouping proved effective in mobilising public support in the wake of public disenchantment with the Najib administration over the 1MDB scandal, culminating in the historic defeat of Barisan Nasional in the 2018 elections.

Muhyiddin’s announcement follows that of 9 PKR MPs aligned with Mahathir, who said today that they were quitting the party as well as Pakatan Harapan to form an independent bloc.

Muhyiddin, along with other PPBM leaders, had met with MPs from Umno, PKR, PAS, MCA and MIC at a gathering last night.

The meeting fuelled speculation of a new coalition to form the federal government.

Earlier today, the Prime Minister’s Office confirmed that Mahathir had submitted his resignation letter to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong.