Day 2 at the palace: Agong concludes interviews with MPs

KUALA LUMPUR: The Yang di-Pertuan Agong met some 130 MPs, mostly from Pakatan Harapan as well as PPBM and those aligned to sacked PKR leader Azmin Ali, to hear their views on who should lead the next government following the collapse of the Pakatan Harapan government this week.

Here are blow by blow accounts of events as they unfolded today.

7.30pm: According to a palace official, Shafee sent a representative, but he was turned away as it is compulsory for MPs themselves to attend.

7.12pm: Umno secretary-general Annuar Musa says Padang Rengas MP Nazri Aziz is overseas and is unable to make it back in time for the audience with the King.

6:57pm: A palace official has informed the media that two MPs, Warisan’s Semporna representative Shafie Apdal and Umno’s Padang Rengas MP Nazri Aziz, had not met with the King. Meanwhile, Umno secretary-general Annuar Musa says Nazri is overseas and is now travelling back to Malaysia.

6.20pm: Pakatan Harapan has confirmed that PKR president Anwar Ibrahim is the coalition’s candidate for prime minister. At a press conference following an audience with the King, Anwar said PH arrived at the decision after Dr Mahathir Mohamad declined an invitation to rehabilitate the PH-led government.

5:27pm: It is understood that all MPs have met with the King.

4:20pm: The bus ferrying DAP MPs leaves the palace, almost three hours after their audience with the King.

3:40pm: Sacked PKR deputy president Mohamed Azmin Ali refused to comment on FMT’s report that he and 10 other MPs would be joining PPBM.

3.03pm: DAP MPs are expected to propose PKR president Anwar Ibrahim as the next prime minister. Sin Chew Daily quoted a party member as saying that all their MPs were summoned earlier for a briefing on the matter.

1:40pm: A bus ferrying DAP MPs, including party supremo Lim Kit Siang, arrives at the palace.

1.16pm: The 11 former PKR MPs issued a statement reiterating their support for Dr Mahathir Mohamad and called for national reconciliation for the greater good of the country.

“We want a national reconciliation where Dewan Rakyat members prioritise the aspirations of the people and a national agenda,” said the group, led by Mohamed Azmin Ali.

1.10pm: Amanah’s Hatta Ramli said Pakatan Harapan would make a comeback.

1:09pm: PH MPs are leaving the palace.

12:58pm: Wangsa Maju MP Dr Tan Yee Kew said PKR MPs signed a declaration for president Anwar Ibrahim to be made the 8th prime minister.

12:55pm: Petaling Jaya MP Maria Chin Abdullah said everything was “all good” following the meeting with the Agong.

12:48pm: PKR president Anwar Ibrahim leaves the palace. He did not stop to talk to reporters gathered outside the istana gate.

12:25pm: Police ask Pakatan Harapan supporters gathered near palace to disperse from the area reserved for the media.

12:00pm: All PPBM MPs have unanimously named Dr Mahathir Mohamad for prime minister during their audience with the Agong today, party president Muhyiddin Yassin has announced.

11:57am: Amanah’s Salahuddin Ayub, Hanipa Maidin, Mujahid Yusof Rawa and Khalid Samad arrive at the palace. Mujahid, who is Parit Buntar MP, says there is still hope and is confident the “sun will rise again”.

11:46am: Amanah president Mohamad Sabu arrives at the palace.

11:42: Palace officials unload chairs from a truck for media practitioners camped outside the Palace gate.

11:20am: A small but noisy group of PKR supporters including the pro-Anwar Ibrahim Otai Reformis group continue to gather outside Istana Negara. They shout slogans mocking sacked party leaders Azmin Ali and Zuraida Kamaruddin, chanting “Bye-bye Gombak, Ampang”.

11:19am: PPBM deputy president Mukhriz Mahathir leaves the palace.

10:40am: A group of PKR MPs which include Selayang MP William Leong and Lembah Pantai MP Fahmi Fadzil arrive on a double decker bus, before their audience with the Agong.

10:16am: A handful of Anwar Ibrahim supporters gather some 100 metres away from the palace gate, waiving PKR flags and shouting “reformasi”. Among them are members of the Otai Reformis group which had threatened to hold rallies if Anwar is not made the prime minister by May this year.

9:47am: PPBM president and Pagoh MP Muhyiddin Yassin among the earliest to arrive this morning. His party had quit the Pakatan Harapan coalition this week at the same time Dr Mahathir Mohamad announced his resignation. Muhyiddin left about 90 minutes later.