Banker and mufti among six to be made senators

Former CIMB chief executive Tengku Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz and Federal Territories mufti Zulkifli Mohamad Al-Bakri are to be appointed senators.

KUALA LUMPUR: Six people will be appointed senators for them to take up Cabinet posts in the new government led by Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin.

They include two non-politicians, namely the Mufti of the Federal Territories, Zulkifli Mohamad Al-Bakri, who has been appointed minister in the Prime Minister’s Department to handle religious affairs, and CIMB chief executive Tengku Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz, who becomes Finance Minister.

Four others are appointed deputy ministers. They are:

MCA deputy president Mah Hang Soon (Deputy Minister of Education I);

MCA vice-president Lim Ban Hong – Deputy Minister of International Trade and Industry;

Barisan Nasional executive secretary Ahmad Masrizal Muhammad (Deputy Minister of Environment); and
PPBM Youth international relations bureau chairman Wan Ahmad Fayhsal Wan Ahmad Kamal (Deputy Youth and Sports Minister).

The new Cabinet announced by Muhyiddin marked the return of PAS to federal power after 43 years and a comeback by the MCA after two disastrous general election outings.

Muhyiddin announced that he was not appointing a deputy prime minister but was creating four positions of senior ministers, to help him in his duties as prime minister, including chairing Cabinet meetings in his absence.