Former chief secretary to government appointed EAIC chairman

Former chief secretary to the government Mohd Sidek Hassan. (Bernama pic)

PETALING JAYA: The Yang di-Pertuan Agong today consented to the appointment of former chief secretary to the government Mohd Sidek Hassan as chairman of the Enforcement Agency Integrity Commission.

According to a statement by the Prime Minister’s Office, meanwhile, former Federal Court judge Zainun Ali was appointed as deputy chairman.

Former High Court judge John Louis O’Hara and International Islamic University Malaysia legal adviser Nik Ahmad Kamal Nik Mahmod were also appointed as commissioners.

Their appointments are valid for three years from July 1, 2020.

“These appointments will strengthen the implementation of the EAIC’s functions and effectiveness towards ensuring the quality of enforcement among enforcement officers and agencies,” said the statement.

The government also expressed its appreciation to the previous EAIC line-up comprising chairman A Aziz A Rahim as well as members Sabariah Hassan, Abang Ekhsan Abang Othman, Lee Sow Siong, Leong May Chan and James Deva Nayagam Gnanaratnam.