PPBM’s Kota Raja division denies it will be dissolved

Four PPBM divisions are said to have been dissolved in support of Dr Mahathir Mohamad’s new party.

PETALING JAYA: The Kota Raja PPBM division this morning denied allegations it would be dissolved, saying such decisions could only be made by the party’s supreme council.

Division chief Wan Dzahanurin Ahmad said this was stipulated in PPBM’s constitution.

“As the Kota Raja PPBM division chief, I deny this claim,” he told FTM.

It was reported last night that the division, along with the one in Bangi, was expected to be dissolved in the wake of the dissolution of four other divisions in support of Dr Mahathir Mohamad’s new party.

The four divisions – Petaling Jaya, Klang, Jeram and Ulu Langat – said they had lost trust in the top leadership of PPBM. A total of 3,300 members are said to have left the party.

On Friday, Mahathir, the former PPBM chairman, announced that he was forming a new Malay party following a political fallout with party president MuhyiddinYassin, which subsequently culminated in Mahathir’s membership being terminated.

However, Wan Dzahanurin said members were free to quit the party if they wished to do so. “But they cannot announce that the division would be dissolved.”

A Kota Raja PPBM member is expected to announce his exit from the party, along with central committee members, this evening. But Shahrul Hameed Abdul Wahab has refused to say how many would follow suit.

Yesterday, PPBM supreme council member Tariq Ismail and Jeram assemblyman Mohd Shaid Rosli announced their exit from the party.