It’s polling day at Slim with Covid-19 SOPs in place

Voters are seen complying with the SOPs as they wait to cast their ballot at the Slim by-election this morning.

TANJUNG MALIM: Today is polling day for the Slim state by-election and it will be conducted under the new normal circumstances due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

A total of 22,749 people are eligible to vote at the 12 polling stations which will open from 8am to 5.30pm today.

Besides the 22,749 ordinary voters, the electoral roll for the Slim state constituency also includes 267 early voters and 78 postal voters.

The 12 polling centres for the Slim by-election are at Sekolah Kebangsaan (SK) Changkat Sulaiman; SK Trolak Utara; SK Trolak Selatan; SK Seri Besout; SK Besout 3 and 5; SK Kuala Slim; SK Slim River; SK Aminudin Baki; Ladang Sungkai Tamil National Type School (SJKT); SJKT Ladang Kelapa Bali and SJKT Trolak.

The Slim by-election is the 12th by-election held after the 14th General Election (GE14) and the second to be conducted in compliance with the standard operating procedures (SOP) to prevent the spread of Covid-19 after the Chini by-election on July 4.

Throughout the voting process, voters are required to observe the prescribed standard operating procedures (SOP), such as physical distancing, wearing face mask, use of hand sanitisers and to scan their body temperature.

The by-election is a three-cornered fight between Barisan Nasional and two Independent candidates – lawyer Amir Khusyairi Mohamad Tanusi, who is representing the yet-to-be registered Parti Pejuang Tanahair (Pejuang), and former teacher, S Santharasekaran.

However, none of the candidates are registered voters for the Slim constituency.

The by-election was called following the death of its four-term assemblyman Mohd Khusairi Abdul Talib, of BN, from a heart attack, last July 15.

Early voting was held last Tuesday, with 96.25% of the 267 early voters casting their ballot.

In GE14, Khusairi defended the state seat with a majority of 2,183 votes, defeating Mohd Amran Ibrahim of PPBM and Muhammad Zulfadli Zainal of PAS.

Perak has 59 state seats, of which Perikatan Nasional (PN) controls 33 seats – BN has 25 seats (all under UMNO), Bersatu (five) and PAS (three) – while the state opposition is led by DAP with 16 seats, Amanah (five), PKR (three) and Independent (one).