Anuar Taib to take over from Sapura founder Shahril

Anuar Taib will succeed Sapura Energy founder Shahril Shamsuddin who retires in March.

PETALING JAYA: Sapura Energy Berhad today announced its leadership succession plan with current president and CEO Shahril Shamsuddin set to retire in March 2021.

The company said non-executive director Mohd Anuar Taib will be appointed COO and CEO-designate from Oct 1 onwards as part of a six-month transition before Shahril’s retirement.

Shahril founded Sapura in the mid-90s, leading its growth into a global integrated oil and gas company over 25 years at the helm.

“Shahril will be passing the baton after ensuring the group remains agile and resilient during the current difficult operating conditions; sustaining progress from its comprehensive transformation plan,” the company said in a statement today.

Anuar began his career with Sarawak Shell Berhad in 1990, became chairman of Shell Malaysia in 2010, and moved to Petronas where he became executive vice president and CEO of upstream business.

“At the national oil company, he was instrumental in improving the delivery of capital projects, reduction in operating costs and the set-up of the successful low-cost and marginal field subsidiary Vestigo Petroleum,” said Sapura.

He was appointed an independent and non-executive director of Sapura in August this year.