Norza new BAM president for 2017/2021 term

norza-bamPETALING JAYA: Mohamad Norza Zakaria has officially assumed the president’s post in the Badminton Association of Malaysia (BAM) after being elected unanimously by its council members for the 2017/2021 term.

Mohamad Norza succeeds Tengku Mahaleel Tengku Ariff effective today, continuing BAM’s 32-year tradition of forgoing a contest for the top spot.

He will be assisted by two vice presidents, Abdul Aziz Hussain and Lim Teong Kiat.

The BAM honorary-secretary’s post will be held by Ng Chin Chai, for the seventh consecutive year, while V Subramaniam was elected treasurer.

The number one post was a bone of contention when it emerged that there was a “gentlemen’s agreement” among Norza, Mahaleel and former acting president, Mohamed Al-Amin Abdul Majid on the succession plan.

However, the issue was resolved after Mohamed Al-Amin agreed to give way to Mohamad Norza.

This was announced by Minister of Youth and Sports Khairy Jamaluddin at a press conference which was also attended by BAM patron Rosmah Mansor at the Seri Perdana Complex, recently.

BAM council members also agreed to appoint Mohamed Al-Amin as BAM Advisor.

A total of 14 affiliate members were present at the AGM held at the Dorsett Grand Subang Hotel, here.

The following is the new BAM leadership for the term 2017/2021:

President: Mohamad Norza Zakaria

Deputy President: Abdul Aziz Hussain and Lim Teong Kiat

Honorary-Secretary: Ng Chin Chai

Assistant Honorary Secretary: Taupik Mohd Hussain

Treasurer: V Subramaniam