JDT secure seventh Super League title

JDT celebrate winning the Super League after defeating Sabah at Sultan Ibrahim Stadium in Iskandar Puteri on Oct 2. (Bernama pic)

KUALA LUMPUR: Johor Darul Ta’zim (JDT) clinched their seventh consecutive Super League title in swash-buckling style after trouncing Sabah 4-1 at the Sultan Ibrahim Stadium in Iskandar Puteri yesterday.

With the win, their eighth this season, the Southern Tigers has accumulated 26 points – nine more than nearest challengers Perak (17 points) in the standings.

JDT still have one more match to go while Perak have two games in hand.

Against Sabah, JDT got their goals through Diogo Luis Santo (38th minute), Safawi Rasid (57th, 81st) and Leandro Velazquez (84th) while Sabah got their consolation goal through Dennis Buschening (74th).

The defeat has put Sabah, who have nine points, in danger of being relegated.

JDT opened the scoring after Santo netted a cross by Afiq Fazail before Safawi put JDT 2-0 up.

Sabah tried to close the gap after Buschening smashed one in with his left foot to defeat JDT goalkeeper Farizal Marlias.

Sabah’s advance were halted when the hosts hit two goals in three minutes via Safawi and Velazquez.

Meanwhile, PJ City FC escaped from the relegation zone after an emphatic 4-2 victory over UiTM FC at UiTM Stadium, in Shah Alam.

PJ City FC’s goals were scored by R Barathkumar in the 46th minute, Anawin Jujeen (48′), R Kogileswaran (66′) and Washington Brandao in the 75th minute.

Gustavo Dos Santos scored both goals for the hosts.

Penang crushed Kelantan United FC 4-0 at Stadium Bandaraya and clinched the Premier League title after a goalless draw between Kuala Lumpur and Perak II at Manjung Municipal Council Stadium.

Terengganu FC II edged Sarawak United FC 1-0 at the State Stadium while Selangor 2 defeated UKM FC 2-1 at Petaling Jaya City Council Stadium.