PSM to contest 3 parliament, 4 state seats in Selangor

psmPETALING JAYA: Parti Sosialis Malaysia (PSM) has set its sights on contesting in three parliamentary and four state seats in Selangor in the upcoming 14th general election (GE14).

In a press conference today, the party’s central committee member S. Arutchelvan said the three parliamentary seats were Subang, Hulu Langat and Hulu Selangor, while the four state seats were Kota Damansara, Semenyih, Port Klang and Sri Muda.

The move will see potential multi-cornered fights between PSM and Pakatan Harapan (PH), and also Barisan Nasional (BN), but Arutchelvan said the party was merely standing in 3% of the total seats.

“The remaining over 90%, we will ask the public to vote for PH, unless it is a problematic candidate.

“In Subang, all the PSM big guns are based here; A. Sivarajan (PSM secretary-general), V. Selvam (PSM central committee member) and Mohd Nasir Hashim (PSM national chairman).

“We will contest here in Subang and Kota Damansara. As for Bukit Lanjan and Paya Jaras (two state seats under Subang), there are a few people who are keen to contest under PSM’s banner, but they are not party members,” he said.

While the candidates for the seats have yet to be finalised, Arutchelvan said there would be no parachute candidates, but only those who have served in the areas concerned.

Sivarajan said their stand to contest under the PSM logo was very clear, but if PH wants to hold any discussions, PSM would be ready to talk.

On whether PSM was contesting the Subang seat as the present MP, R Sivarasa, was not doing a good job, Arutchelvan said PSM had contested in Subang before Sivarasa did.

“We are just taking our seat back. We have done a lot of work here.

“We think we have a better candidate, and the best candidate should be allowed to stand,” he said.

PSM had last contested the Subang seat in 2004, and the Kota Damansara state seat in 2008 and 2013.

Sivarajan noted that even after they lost in previous elections, they remained in Subang to continue their service to the people and help them solve issues.

He claimed that many problems were still being referred to PSM, which raised the possibility that there were issues which the PH coordinators could not resolve.

“This is why we think it is important for us to field our candidates in these areas.

“PSM’s role in Subang and Kota Damansara is still relevant. There is a vacuum in Subang and Kota Damansara. Others cannot fight. We are filling that vacuum,” he added.

The Hulu Langat seat is currently held by PAS’ Che Rosli Che Mat, and the Hulu Selangor seat by BN’s P. Kamalanathan.

The Kota Damansara state seat, meanwhile, is currently held by BN’s Halimaton Saadiah Bohan, Semenyih by BN’s Johan Abd Aziz, Port Klang by independent Abdul Khalid Ibrahim and Sri Muda by PKR’s Mat Shuhaimi Shafiei.