Almost all Sabah assemblymen sworn in

Sabah assemblymen recite a prayer before taking their oath of office at the state assembly today. (Bernama pic)

KOTA KINABALU: Almost all 38 Gabungan Rakyat Sabah representatives took their oaths as assemblymen today, with the notable absentee being Chief Minister Hajiji Noor.

State secretary Safar Untong said yesterday Hajiji, who is Sulaman assemblyman, was under a two-week self-quarantine after being in close contact with an individual who tested positive for Covid-19.

Among those who took their oaths as assemblymen today before new state speaker Kadzim Yahya were deputy chief ministers Bung Moktar Radin (Lamag), Jeffrey Kitingan (Tambunan) and Joachim Gunsalam (Kundasang).

All the other new state ministers, including Local Government and Housing Minister Masidi Manjun (Karanaan) and Rural Development Minister Jahid Jahim (Tamparuli), as well as 18 assistant ministers, were also sworn in.

Three independent candidates, who have aligned themselves with GRS, namely Ruddy Awah, Masiung Banah and Rubin Balang, also took their oaths at the ceremony which began at 2pm.

Meanwhile, 30 of the 32 opposition assemblymen from Warisan Plus were also present for the oath taking, including former chief minister Shafie Apdal (Senallang), Warisan deputy president Darell Leiking and Warisan vice-presidents Peter Anthony (Melalap) and Junz Wong (Tanjung Aru).

Sabah PKR chief Christina Liew (Api-Api), the former deputy chief minister, and Sabah DAP acting chief Frankie Poon (Tanjong Papat) also took their oaths.

Warisan vice-president Jaujan Sambakong (Sulabayan) and Warisan’s Bugaya rep Manis Buka Mohd Darah were not present.

As for the nominated assemblymen, only four out of the six appointed were sworn in, including Sabah PAS secretary Aliakbar Gulasan, whose appointment has come under scrutiny by politicians and Sabahans.

Sabah Umno information chief Raime Unggi and treasurer Suhaimi Nasir, as well as Jaffari Waliam, a former PKR nominated assemblyman in the previous Warisan-led government, were the other nominated reps who took their oaths.

SAPP president Yong Teck Lee and Sabah PPBM’s Amisah Yassin were the two nominated assemblymen who were absent.