Do you need a visa to enter Malaysia?

There are different visa requirements for different countries.

There are different visa requirements for different countries.

Visitors who have seen advertisements on visiting Malaysia will remember the catchy tagline “Malaysia Truly Asia”.

This is because the three major races in Malaysia namely the Malays, Chinese and Indians live harmoniously side by side.

You also have Eurasians, the natives of Borneo, Orang Asal as well as foreign workers coming from all over the world.

So, if you are coming to Malaysia for the first time, do you need a visa?

Countries whose nationals require a visa to enter Malaysia

There are various types of visas available but this article will focus solely on visas for holiday.

  • Afghanistan (Visa with Reference)
  • Angola
  • Bhutan
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Central African Republic
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Congo Democratic Republic
  • Congo Republic
  • Cote D’Ivoire
  • Djibouti
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Hong Kong (C/I or D/I)
  • India
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia & Montenegro
  • Taiwan
  • United Nations (Laissez Passer)
  • Western Sahara

Do note that some of the above countries now offer the eVisa which can be applied for online prior to entering Malaysia.

Holiday visas are the easiest to apply for.

Commonwealth countries whose citizens need a visa to enter Malaysia

Generally, Commonwealth countries are free to visit each other visa-free for a specified period.

Nevertheless, there are some Commonwealth countries which require their citizens to have a visa before being permitted to enter Malaysia:

  • Bangladesh
  • Cameroon
  • Ghana
  • Mozambique
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka
Many countries now offer the convenience of an eVisa.

Countries whose citizens require a visa For a stay exceeding three months

If your visit will exceed three months, you will have to apply for a visa before entering Malaysia:

  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Egypt
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyz Republic
  • Lebanon
  • Lienchestien
  • Luxembourg
  • Morocco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • St Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Slovakia
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • Uruguay
  • Yemen
Malaysia offers plenty of world class golfing destinations. ( pic)

Countries whose nationals require a visa for a stay exceeding one month

Same as the previous requirement, but the difference for these countries is the period.

  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Benin
  • Bolivia
  • Bulgaria
  • Cambodia
  • Cape Verde
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • Costa Rica
  • Equador
  • El Savador
  • Estonia
  • Gabon
  • Georgia
  • Greece
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea Republic
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong SAR
  • Kazakhstan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Macao SAR
  • Macedonia
  • Madagascar
  • Maldova
  • Mauritania
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Nicaragua
  • North Korea
  • North Yemen
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Sao Tome & Principe
  • Senegal
  • Slovenia
  • Sudan
  • Surinam
  • Tajikistan
  • Togo
  • Ukraine
  • Upper Volta
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vatican City
  • Venezuela
  • Zaire
  • Zimbabwe
A beach holiday to recharge your batteries. ( pic)

Countries whose citizens require a visa for a stay exceeding 14 days

  • Iran (90 days)
  • Iraq (30 days)
  • Libya
  • Macao (Travel Permit / Portugal CI)
  • Palestine (30 days)
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Yemen
  • Syria (30 days)
Explore the varied and diverse food of Malaysia. ( pic)

So, how about you?

If your country is not listed above, then it means that maybe you are subjected to the following conditions:

  • No visa is required for US citizens visiting Malaysia for social, business or academic purposes (except for employment).
  • No visa is required for a stay of less than one month for nationals of all Asean countries except Myanmar. For a stay exceeding one month a visa will be required, except for nationals of Brunei and Singapore.
  • For nationals of Israel, visas are required and permission must be granted from the Ministry of Home Affairs.
  • For nationals of the Republic of Serbia and Montenegro, visas are required without permission granted from Ministry of Home Affairs.
  • Nationals of countries other than those stated above (with the exception of Israel) are allowed to enter Malaysia without a visa for a visit not exceeding one month.

Khai and wife Amira are Malaysian travel bloggers who blog at Kaki Jalans. Their travels have taken them to almost all the countries in Asean and five countries in Europe. They are still actively travelling and adding to this list.