Don’t give BN an easy win, says PSM’s Jeyakumar


KUALA LUMPUR: PSM central committee member Dr Michael Jeyakumar has urged “disillusioned” young voters not to give Barisan Nasional (BN) an easy win in the next general election (GE14) by refusing to vote.

This came after a member of the audience at a forum entitled “Mahathir, agent of change or agent of destruction?” at the Kuala Lumpur and Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall (KLSCAH) here, who claimed to be from Selangor, said it was unlikely that he would vote in GE14.

Addressing the comment, Jeyakumar advised against this, saying it was important to at least try to deny BN a two-thirds majority at this juncture.

“Don’t give them a walkover. Even after denying them Selangor, they can steal so much from the people,” he said.

“For the short term, at least, don’t give BN supreme control.”

Jeyakumar added however that in the long term he doubted that Pakatan Harapan (PH) would be able to bring about the reforms it had first set out to do, especially after former prime minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad was named its chairman.

For this reason, he called on Malaysians to quickly form a third force after GE14.

“At this moment, honestly, it’s between Pakatan Harapan and BN but you’ve got to start thinking about GE15 and GE16. Pakatan Harapan is going to be so damaged that we will need a third vehicle.

“Pakatan Harapan is not doing very well and they’ve had 10 years. We need young people interested in the Reformasi agenda to come forward and create a third line.”

Anwar Ibrahim was appointed as PH leader and Mahathir as chairman following a meeting at the PKR headquarters earlier this month.

A joint statement read by Mahathir also named Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail as the president, assisted by three deputies: Muhyiddin Yassin (PPBM), Lim Guan Eng (DAP) and Mohamad Sabu (Amanah).

PKR deputy president Mohamed Azmin Ali and his PPBM counterpart Mukhriz Mahathir were named as vice-presidents, along with DAP’s Chong Chieng Jen and Amanah’s Salahuddin Ayub.

Former deputy minister Saifuddin Abdullah is the chief secretary.

Recently, Malaysiakini reported that Otai Reformasi 1998 secretary Abdul Razak Ismail would be contesting in the next general election under PSM’s banner due to his disagreement with Mahathir leading the opposition coalition.

Also present at the forum tonight were Mohamad Sabu and activists Hishamuddin Rais and Haris Ibrahim.

Pakatan chooses logo, Mahathir and Anwar for top posts