Six states get consent to dissolve the legislatures

KUALA LUMPUR: Six states have announced that their state legislative assemblies will be dissolved in line with the prime minister’s announcement that Parliament will be dissolved on Saturday, paving the way for the 14th general election.

Sabah was the first state to announce the dissolution of its state assembly.

Sabah Chief Minister Musa Aman told a press conference at his official residence that he had received the consent of the Yang Dipertua Negeri at 2.30pm for the dissolution of the state assembly.

Other states controlled by the Barisan Nasional – Perlis, Melaka, Johor and Negeri Sembilan – have also said they would follow suit, Bernama reported.

Selangor, which is run by a Pakatan Harapan administration, has also obtained consent of the Sultan for the state assembly to be dissolved, menteri besar Azmin Ali said in a statement today. A formal ceremony would be held on Monday.

However, Penang chief minister Lim Guan Eng said that he would first hold a state executive council meeting “in the next few days” before he goes to meet the Governor. He said the date of the meeting would be announced later.

The dissolution of Parliament was announced by the prime minister, Najib Razak, in a live broadcast from his office at Perdana Putra.

It was a departure from the norm where the announcement and dissolution are on the same day, Bernama reported

The Speaker of the Dewan Rakyat, Pandikar Amin Mulia, this evening issued a statement confirming receipt of the proclamation by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong proroguing Parliament. It would now be up to the Election Commission to move forward with procedures to call a general election.

In Kangar, Perlis menteri besar Azlan Man announced that the Raja of Perlis had given consent for the dissolution.

In Johor Bahru, a statement was posted on the Sultan’s official Facebook page to say that Sultan Ibrahim had signed the instrument of dissolution of the Johor state assembly.

In Seremban, Negeri Sembilan menteri besar Mohamad Hasan announced he had received consent from the Yang Dipertuan Besar.

Melaka chief minister Idris Haron also received the consent and signature of the Melaka Yang Dipertua Negeri.

In Selangor, an official dissolution ceremony of the Selangor state legislature is to be held at 10.30am on Monday at the Balai Dewan Diraja, Istana Alam Shah, Klang.

The menteris besar of Kedah, Perak and Pahang are scheduled to have an audience with their respective Sultans tomorrow for consent to dissolve the state assemblies, while Terengganu, Kelantan and Penang are also scheduled to seek an audience with their heads of states.

Terengganu menteri mesar Ahmad Razif Abd Rahman is scheduled to have an audience with Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin on Wednesday, Kelantan menteri besar Ahmad Yakob said he would seek an audience with the Regent tonight, Bernama reported.

Penang assembly to be dissolved next week, says Guan Eng

Sabah state assembly to be dissolved tomorrow

Parliament is dissolved