Speaker is also MP to ensure ‘sense of responsibility’

Pakatan Harapan says names of candidates for the post of Dewan Rakyat speaker are shortlisted.

PETALING JAYA: The ruling coalition said the new Dewan Rakyat speaker would be appointed from among elected MPs and will not be from the Senate.

“This is because we want them to have a sense of responsibility to Dewan Rakyat members and to do their job fairly and equally,” said Pakatan Harapan (PH) chief secretary Saifuddin Abdullah.

But he refused to comment on speculation that former minister Rais Yatim, who did not contest in the last general election, would be made the speaker.

He said the position would be given to a member of the Dewan Rakyat.

Saifuddin, the Indera Mahkota MP and foreign minister, was quoted by Bernama as saying that the names of candidates for the post had been shortlisted and would be decided by the PH leadership before Dewan Rakyat convenes on July 16.

He said each PH component had submitted its respective candidates’ names and a voting process would be conducted.

“The speaker will be appointed next Monday, before all members of the Dewan Rakyat take oath,” he said.

He added that two deputy speakers, one of whom is from east Malaysia, would also be announced.

Meanwhile, Rais said he had not received any “signal” about him being nominated as speaker.