Mat Sabu welcomes addition of 7 MPs to PPBM

Amanah president Mohamad Sabu (fourth from right) accepting new membership applications in Kota Kinabalu today.

KOTA KINABALU: Amanah president Mohamad Sabu has welcomed the seven former Umno MPs who joined PPBM today, saying it will add to Pakatan Harapan’s strength.

Mohamad, better known as Mat Sabu, said he is not worried by the sudden rise in the number of PPBM MPs compared with Amanah’s.

“It’s okay, we are not worried.

“What’s important for us in PH is that we definitely want to strengthen PH, especially with the support of the Malays in the peninsula.

“And I have not heard anything from the PH chairman promising any positions to them (the former Umno MPs) so far,” he told reporters after an Amanah event here today.

With the new faces, PPBM now has 22 seats in Parliament compared with Amanah’s 11.

Earlier today, Prime Minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad announced that PPBM has accepted the seven former Umno representatives.

They were former domestic trade, cooperatives and consumerism minister Hamzah Zainuddin, former deputy tourism minister Mas Ermieyati Samsudin, former deputy health minister Abdul Latiff Ahmad, Ikmal Hisham Abdul Aziz (Tanah Merah), Mohamad Fasiah Mohd Fakeh (Sabak Bernam), Rosol Wahid (Hulu Terengganu) and Shahbudin Yahya (Tasik Gelugor).

Mahathir said the seven had been “vetted” before being accepted into the party.

Mat Sabu received 3,000 membership applications at the event here tonight and said Amanah has about 15,000 members in Sabah now.

“The party is gaining more acceptance in Sabah after the formation of the PH government.”

He said members from Barisan Nasional component parties were interested in joining the party in Tawau.

Amanah now has 10 divisions in Sabah, including the opening of four new ones today in Papar, Kimanis, Putatan and Sandakan.