Sarawak unveils new state line-up

Sarawak Chief Minister Abang Johari Openg. (Bernama pic)

KUCHING: Sarawak Chief Minister Abang Johari Openg has named Douglas Uggah Embas as the state’s new second finance minister in a Cabinet reshuffle announced today.

Uggah replaces Wong Soon Koh, the Parti Sarawak Bersatu president who resigned last month over disappointments with the absence of his party men in the new list of local councillors.

Meanwhile, assistant tourism, arts and culture minister Lee Kim Shin was appointed as the state’s transport minister.

Jerip Susil is the assistant transport minister while Sebastian Ting replaced Lee as assistant tourism, arts and culture minister.

Abang Johari said the state Cabinet reshuffle was also aimed at transforming Sarawak into a developed state by 2030.

“Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) leaders have agreed that we must consolidate and implement policies that will boost the state’s economic development to achieve a developed state status by 2030,” he said at a press conference here today.

Therefore, re-designations of some of the ministries’ portfolios was done, focusing on five areas in the state, namely the development of ports, oil and gas, agriculture, urban renewal, transportation and tourism.

The previous infrastructure development and transportation ministry has been changed to the infrastructure and ports development ministry, led by James Jemut Masing.

The tourism, arts, culture, youth and sports ministry has been split into the tourism, arts and culture ministry and the youth and sports ministry. Both will be led by Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah for now.

The international trade and e-commerce ministry has been incorporated into the industrial and entrepreneur development ministry. It will now be known as the international trade and industry, industrial terminal and entrepreneur development ministry. The portfolio is held by Awang Tengah Ali Hassan.