Melaka govt collapses, new CM to be chosen

The Yang Di Pertuan Negeri of Melaka, Khalil Yaakob, turned down a request for fresh state elections. (Bernama pic)

PETALING JAYA: The Melaka state government has been told to resign after the collapse of the Pakatan Harapan coalition, and the Yang Di Pertua Negeri is to appoint a new chief minister to head a new government

The office of the Yang Di Pertuan Negeri, Khalil Yaakob, said a request to dissolve the state assembly, made by Chief Minister Adly Zahari today, had been rejected.

Adly had informed the head of state at a meeting at 4.30pm of his government’s loss of a majority in the state assembly.

Pakatan Harapan had held a simple majority with 15 seats in the assembly, through DAP (8), PKR (3), Amanah (2) and PPBM (2), while Umno formed the opposition with 13 seats.

With PPBM having formed a national coalition with Umno and PAS, the two state parties in Melaka have 15 state assembly seats, enough for a majority.

They have been strengthened with the support of two dissidents from DAP and PKR, Pengkalan Batu assemblyman Norhizam Hassan Baktee, and Rembia assemblyman Muhammad Jailani Khamis, who said they would support the Peritakan Nasional coalition while still remaining in their parties.

Under the Melaka state constitution, the Chief Minister may request the dissolution of the state assembly on losing majority support. However, the head of state may withhold consent.

The State Secretary Hasim Hasan, said in the government statement that the Yang Di Pertua Negeri would soon appoint as the new Chief Minister the assemblyman who enjoyed the support of a majority in the house.

He had said the Malacca State Constitution calls for the resignation of the Chief Minister if he no longer had a majority in the state assembly.


This article has been amended and was published earlier under the headline “No Melaka elections, new CM to be chosen”