Sarawak postpones reopening of over 200 schools

Those affected are from transition classes, Form 1 to 4, Lower 6 as well as Year 1 to 6 pupils.

KUCHING: The Sarawak disaster management committee has announced a postponement for the reopening of more than 200 schools in Kuching, Samarahan and Padawan due to Covid-19 fears.

In a statement today, it said 213 schools in these districts will only reopen on Aug 17 instead of Aug 1.

They involve transition classes, Form 1 to 4, Lower 6 as well as Year 1 to 6 pupils. Preschools, Form 5 and Upper 6 students are not affected.

In addition, the committee also took note of the registration for matriculation students on Aug 3.

“The committee will cooperate with Sarawak Volunteers, an NGO to assist parents who are unable to register their children due to the latest state government’s SOPs on the entry of all Malaysians, including Sarawakians from the peninsula, Sabah and Labuan into Sarawak.

“Sarawak Volunteers will assist the students from the moment they arrive at the airport to their respective matriculation centres,” it said.

Earlier, the state government was reported to have decided that from Aug 1 to 14, all Malaysians, including Sarawakians travelling from the peninsula, Sabah and Labuan, will be quarantined at designated centres upon their arrival in Sarawak and tested for Covid-19.

On the inter-zone movement restrictions to be implemented for the same period in the state, those involved in the essential services category were required to get approval letters from their heads of department.

“They must also obtain a police permit before purchasing their flight, bus or express boat tickets,” it said.

The state had earlier recorded two new Covid-19 cases, from Kuching and Serian, bringing the total number of cases to 677.

The number of deaths in Sarawak remains at 19.