Sarawak DAP: Abang Jo has marginalised Chinese colleagues in cabinet


PETALING JAYA: It does not matter whether Sarawak gets a Chinese deputy chief minister (DCM), Sarawak DAP chairman Chong Chieng Jen said today.

What was of paramount concern to the Chinese community in Sarawak was the development of Chinese education, he said.

Chong said at one time, a Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP) Chinese representative was made DCM and also held the finance minister’s post.

“But there was no annual allocation for Chinese Middle Schools and the United Examination Certificate (UEC) had no standing whatsoever in the state government.

“It was only at a time when there was no Chinese DCM and no Chinese finance minister that the state government started to give annual allocations to Chinese Middle Schools and also a certain degree of recognition for UEC,” Chong said in a press statement today.

However, Chong said since Chief Minister Abang Johari Openg had made a call for the Chinese to return to mainstream politics, not appointing a Chinese DCM in his new cabinet line-up “is political hypocrisy of the highest degree”.

“Doing so has marginalised his Chinese colleagues in the cabinet.

“Instead, the PBB now officially has one CM and two DCM.

“This defies the so-called power-sharing principle of the BN coalition and it smacks of Umno’s politics in West Malaysia where one party dominates all inside BN.

“Here, in Sarawak, it is PBB that dominates all within BN.

“It seems that Abang Jo is not only allowing the Umno policies and doctrine to infiltrate Sarawak but is himself practising Umno’s way of politics in Sarawak, that is playing racial politics.”

Former chief minister Adenan Satem passed away just eight months after leading the BN coalition to an impressive victory, winning 72 out of the 82 state seats.

In the May 2016 state election, PBB won 40 of the 72 seats contested to make it the state’s strongest BN party in Sarawak.

New faces in Sarawak cabinet boost Abang Johari’s govt

PBB now controls 45 of 82 Sarawak state seats