Port Dickson by-election on Oct 13

PUTRAJAYA: The Port Dickson by-election will be held on Oct 13 with nomination day on Sept 29, the Election Commission (EC) announced today.

EC deputy chairman Othman Mahmood said the campaign period would stretch for 14 days.

The Port Dickson seat fell vacant after its incumbent Danyal Balagopal Abdullah resigned to make way for PKR president elect Anwar Ibrahim to attempt a parliamentary comeback.

Danyal, a former naval officer, won the Port Dickson seat with 36,225 votes, beating Barisan Nasional’s VS Mogan (18,515 votes) and PAS’ Mahfuz Roslan (6,594 votes) in the May 9 polls.

Othman said the RM3.6 million cost of having this by-election was more compared with previous by-elections because there were five state seats under the PD constituency – Chuah, Lukut, Bagan Pinang, Linggi and Sri Tanjung.

There are a total of 75,770 voters in the constituency, consisting of 68,486 normal voters, 7,268 early voters, and 16 overseas voters.

There are 12,009 voters between 21-29 years old, 18,512 between 30-39, 15,568 between 40-49, 13,881 between 50-59, 9,680 between 60-69, 4,406 between 70-79, 1,406 between 80-89 and 308 voters above 90 years old.

The EC expects a 70% voter turnout.