PKR GE14 list: Compromise for party unity

PETALING JAYA: PKR’s announcement today on the list of candidates for the upcoming polls threw a few surprises but for the most part showed that party leaders came to a compromise on some of the candidates for the sake of pleasing what appears to be two camps.

The list suggested that the last-minute negotiations between the party’s top two – president Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail and deputy president Mohamed Azmin Ali – did work to reverse the decision on some candidates who were said to have been dropped earlier.

This is believed to be why Tian Chua will get to defend his Batu parliamentary seat after he was rumoured to have been dropped.

However, there was no respite for party vice-president N Surendran, who will not be defending his Padang Serai parliamentary seat.

Also dropped were Kamarul Baharin Abbas, a two-term MP for Teluk Kemang which is now known as Port Dickson, Batu Pahat MP Mohd Idris Jusi and Wangsa Maju MP Tan Kee Kwong.

Meanwhile, the big news that turned out to be true despite PKR vice-president Nurul Izzah Anwar’s denial last week, is her taking over her mother, Wan Azizah’s seat in Permatang Pauh.

The Permatang Pauh parliamentary seat has been held either by former opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim or his wife, Wan Azizah, since 1982.

Wan Azizah will move to stand in Pandan taking over Rafizi Ramli’s seat, while her number two, Azmin will defend both his Gombak parliamentary and Bukit Antarabangsa state seats.

Other incumbents who will defend their parliamentary seats include R Sivarasa in Sungai Buloh (previously known as Subang), Wong Chen in Subang (previously known as Kelana Jaya) and PKR Wanita chief Zuraida Kamaruddin in Ampang.

Also, following much speculation in recent months PKR communications director Fahmi Fadzil will stand in the Lembah Pantai parliamentary seat held by Nurul Izzah for the past two terms.

Meanwhile, G Manivannan, the Kapar parliamentary seat incumbent from Selangor, will be moving to the Hutan Melintang state seat in Perak.

Kuala Langat incumbent Abdullah Sani Abdul Hamid will now stand in Kapar, while Sri Andalas assemblyman Xavier Jeyakumar will contest the Kuala Langat parliamentary seat.

Poser over Surendran fuels more talk of PKR split

PKR’s 2-term Teluk Kemang MP dropped for GE14

No, I’m not replacing mum in Permatang Pauh, says Nurul Izzah

Wan Azizah to stand in Pandan?